Bad poetry

I knew I loved you,
That you were the one for me.
Because the day I met you
I started writing bad love poetry.

Cinquains and stanzas
Celebrating your eyes,
Your hair and your smile
And how you’re so wise….

Unrequited tankas
And non rhyming sonnets
About how I’d wish you’d make love to me
On vintage car bonnets

Free verse and ballads,
The odd villanelle,
Claiming when I didn’t see you,
You condemned me to hell.

I even declared,
(In an awful decastich)
That without you my life
Would be nothing but tragic.

But time passes and still
We’re happy together…
Things is, I’m still waiting
For the poems to get better.

2 thoughts on “Bad poetry

Leave a Reply

