Tears

I didn’t mean to make you cry.
I should have been
more thoughtful,
a bottle of white in
and the world bigger than ever imagined.

Foolish.
Foolish for showing you
my meaningless phrases.
Eagerly seeking approval, 
almost sat on your lap for
a glimpse of a smile. 
A selfish act.
Wanting your adoration, 
your words of praise.

Yet all I have done is upset you.
Drawn a memory deep
that strikes
the very soul of you.

I’m sorry. 

Two plain words to appease
the damage done by ink spilled, 
spilled like tears.

Leave a Reply

